I ♥ BJ

Photo on 25-07-2012 at 15.56

I think this T-shirt pretty much speaks for itself, and I hesitated for a long time before buying one out of sheer prudery.

The thing is, I don’t think most people here get the joke. How do I know this? Because I have seen several people (mostly guys) wearing it. Now, I know I shouldn’t judge by appearances, but they didn’t seem like they knew what they were sporting. Indeed, the other day when I saw a Chinese guy wearing one and asked a Spanish friend if he thought the guy knew the T-shirt’s meaning, the reply was a scoffed, “Pfft, of course not, look at him!” Not my words…

I suppose it’s not an English-speaking country, so the joke goes over most people’s heads. I bought mine at a stall by the Great Wall accompanied by above Spaniard who didn’t understand my hesitation, until I explained the double entendre. The French girl who sits with me in class had “I ♥ BJ” as the wallpaper of her iPhone. Needless to say, she didn’t know the hidden meaning either, until I translated.

So it’s not only the Chinese who don’t get it. I wonder just how many people around the world have bought one of these T-shirts home from a tourist site in China, and are wearing it in all innocence, thinking it simply means that they had a really (really) good time in Beijing?

Leave a Reply

